Broker Check

9 Elk Mountain Road
Asheville, NC 28804

(828) 883-9513 

the 4 E's of a CFP®

| June 14, 2019
Share |

When you are searching for financial advice, a Certified Financial Planner™ Professional can provide valuable insight to an individual or family.  The CFP® designation carries great significance for those who have achieved the qualifications to use the designation.  The CFP® designation is not based on selling, it is based on knowledge and experience.  To understand what it takes to call ones self a CFP® professional, it essentially boils down to the 4 E's.

1.  Education.  There are two components to the education requirement.  One part being that an individual has a bachelors degree from an accredited college or university.  The second part being the the individual has enrolled in and completed a program that has a comprehensive financial curriculum that was approved by the CFP® board.

2.  Exam.  Upon completion of the CFP® course, an individual must sit for and pass a comprehensive exam that was administered by the CFP® board.  

3.  Experience.  a CFP® practitioner must have 3 years of financial planning related experience, or 2 years of apprenticing.

4.  Ethics.  A person must satisfy a back ground check and hold themselves to an ethical set of standards.  A CFP® professional will put the clients best interests first.  This fiduciary standard helps to reduce conflicts of interest, and transparency in the relationship between practitioner and client. 

Once the 4 E's completed, an individual may hold themselves out as a CFP® professional once they are granted permission to use the designation by the CFP® board.  Only about 20% of Financial Advisors have achieved the CFP® designation. 

Share |

Have A Question?

Thank you! Oops!

Recommended Content

Rightsizing for Retirement

What does your home really cost?

Understanding Homeowner’s Insurance

Purchasing homeowners insurance is critical for protecting your home.

It Was the Best of Times, It Was the Worst of Times

All about how missing the best market days (or the worst!) might affect your portfolio.